May 11 – 13, 2022
Europe/Istanbul timezone

Davetli Konuşmacılar / Invited Speakers

Mateo Valero Cortés (Director – Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC))

Mateo Valero, Director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center. His research focuses on high performance architectures. He has published approximately 700 papers, has served in the organization of more than 300 International Conferences and he has given more than 500 invited talks. Prof. Valero has been honored with several awards, among them the 3 most relevant awards in Computer Architecture field: The Eckert-Mauchly Award 2007 by the IEEE and ACM; Seymour Cray Award 2015 by IEEE; Charles Babbage 2017 by IEEE; Harry Goode Award 2009 by IEEE; the Spanish National awards “Julio Rey Pastor” and “Leonardo Torres Quevedo”. "Hall of the Fame" member of the ICT European Program (selected as one of the 25 most influents European researchers in IT during the period 1983-2008. Lyon,November 2008); In 2020 he has been awarded for his exceptional leadership in HPC  by “HPCWire Reader’s Choice Awards” for “being an HPC pioneer since 1990 and the driving force behind the renaissance of European HPC independence”. Honored with “Condecoración de la Orden Mexicana del Águila Azteca” 2018, highest recognition granted by the Mexican Government. He is Honorary Doctorate by 9 Universities. He is member of 9 academies. He is a fellow of IEEE, ACM, Intel Distinguished Research Fellow and Fellow of the Asian-Pacific Artifical Intelligence Association (AAIA).

In 1998 he won a “Favourite Son” Award of his hometown, Alfamén (Zaragoza) and in 2006, his native town of Alfamén named their Public College after him.

Prof. Dr. Ümit Çatalyürek (Amazon Web Services and Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Computational Science and Engineering)

Ümit V. Çatalyürek concurrently holds appointments as a Professor of Computational Science and Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and as an Amazon Scholar at the Amazon Web Services. Prior joining Georgia Institute of Technology, he was a Professor and Vice Chair of the Department of Biomedical Informatics, and Professor in the Departments of Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Computer Science & Engineering at the Ohio State University. He received his Ph.D., M.S. and B.S. in Computer Engineering and Information Science from Bilkent University, Turkey, in 2000, 1994 and 1992, respectively. 

Dr. Çatalyürek is a Fellow of IEEE and SIAM. He was the elected Chair for IEEE TCPP for 2016-2019, and the Vice-Chair for ACM SIGBio for 2015-2021 terms. He also serves as the member of Board of Trustees of Bilkent University. 

Dr. Çatalyürek currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief for Parallel Computing. In the past, he also served on the editorial boards of the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, the SIAM Journal of Scientific Computing, Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing, and Network Modeling and Analysis in Health Informatics and Bioinformatics. He also serves on the program committees and organizing committees of numerous international conferences. 

Dr. Çatalyürek is a recipient of an NSF CAREER award and is the primary investigator of several awards from the Department of Energy, the National Institute of Health, and the National Science Foundation.  He has co-authored more than 200 peer-reviewed articles, invited book chapters and papers. His main research areas are in parallel computing, combinatorial scientific computing and biomedical informatics. More information about Dr. Çatalyürek and his research group can be found at and